Excellence in design

The 2014 Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards winners have been announced!
Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards
Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards

The winners are announced! Cooper-Hewitt director Caroline Baumann announced the winners of the 2014 National Design Awards, which recognise excellence and innovation across a variety of disciplines.

This year's recipitents are:

Lifetime Achievement: Ivan Chermayeff and Tom Geismar

Design Mind: Witold Rybczynski

Corporate & Institutional Achievement: Etsy

Architecture Design: Brooks + Scarpa

Communication Design: Office

Fashion Design: Narciso Rodriguez

Interaction Design: Aaron Koblin

Interior Design: Roman and Williams Building and Interiors 

Landscape Architecture: Andrea Cochran Landscape Architecture 

Product Design: LUNAR 

First launched at the White House in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards were established to promote design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world. The awards are accompanied each year by a variety of public education programmes, including special events, panel discussions and workshops. First Lady Michelle Obama serves as the Honorary Patron for this year’s National Design Awards.

Through programmes like the National Design Awards, the museum fulfills its mission to educate, inspire and empower people through design, locally, nationally and globally, and we look forward to opening the doors to the new Cooper-Hewitt later this year. As we celebrate the 15th anniversary of the programme, I am delighted to welcome this new class of extraordinary designers, each of whom represent the very best in their discipline and demonstrate design’s power to affect the quality of our life, community, economy and environment, says Baumann. 

Watch the Talk with Ivan Chermayeff